Can’ter, but a Trotting Success!

Ok BIG kisses to my sweet girl, today. What a perfect angel! I am so proud of her! Did we canter? No. But, anyway, here’s how this went:

walk, walk, FAST WALK, don’t-you-even-think-about-trotting-HALF-HALT (I literally said grrrr to tighten my abs enough)

Comfort is, of course, bored so we wind all around the arena – serpentines, circles, squiggles. She gets antsy easily and wants to pick up the pace, but today her walk was a dream! Completely relaxed! That is something we have been working so hard on, and if she gets too bored, she tries to trot. Comfort has a pint or two of wicked smart bloodlines in her.

IMG_0053

I am SO smart, Mommy!! Kisses!

(Once again I look like an idiot, and Comfort looks so cute)

And then, we shorten the reins, and comfort knows what’s next – TROTTING!

Comfort: Mommy I can trot! I am SO great at trotting. I trot so well on the lunge line and out in the pasture and even when you’re sitting on me, for whatever reason you do that.

Me: I reply – half halt, half halt, oh my God, half halt! But then she listened! And I was so proud of her! She waited for me to ask for the trot, and for that I am so excited (and grateful).

And then we trotted…. and she was amazing! She always starts out faster than necessary and I have to reel her in a tad, but today the reeling process was pleasantly minimal!

10493008_10204164198775710_6029048158959219386_o

Of course the reeling-in process was pleasant, because I am a perfectly peaceful pony! 😉

Comfort has this really annoying corner in the arena where she suddenly thinks she gets to set the pace. I am still confused about where this habit came from, but I am desperate for the phase to come to its final chapter. So today I decided that I wasn’t dealing with that corner. Call it laziness or genius.

Me: Ok how do you feel about no corners? Circle time! — Now, Comfort has a great side and a really bad side, and I have been noticing her sides evening out, recently. In the past, circles on her bad side have been a sort of tippy awkward nightmare, but we have been making steady improvement, and these past two rides, I have actually enjoyed her bad side more than her good! I had to do a double take today to make sure I hadn’t confused which direction I was going because of how smooth and bendy and lovely her trot was!

Today was seriously the best trot that Comfort has ever offered me.

MONUMENTAL◊

She tends to speed trot, sometimes, and today I could speak to her so clearly by slowing my post and occasionally employing the outside rein. And best of all, after a little instruction from me, she found her happy place and kept the trot without me holding her there. After years of stubborn lesson horses, I was thrilled to know that horses maintaining their gait without you constantly nagging is not a thing of legends after all!!

IMG_0044

I knew today would be a great ride, so we wore our pretty (I think Lettia) palm tree saddle pad to pre-game the success. 

Anyway, I will wrap this up, mostly because I need to go to bed, but I know that we are on the right track, and I can’t wait for the next time trainer-bestie comes out so I can show her Comfort’s fab progress! Perhaps a video is in order on an upcoming post?

Leave a Reply

